The first distribution of prize money for Player and Coach of the Month in Allsvenskan and Superettan this year goes to community engagement initiatives that support children and young people in the clubs’ local communities.

Each month, Unibet, the main partner of Swedish Professional Football Leagues, donates 10,000 kronor to each winner of Player and Coach of the Month in Allsvenskan and Superettan. The winners then donate the prize money to a community engagement project of their choice within the club.

Allsvenskan’s best player and coach in April were both from the league-leading Malmö FF. Sebastian Nanasi and Henrik Rydström both chose to donate their prize money to the MFF Foundation, which supports organizations working for the physical and mental health of children and young people.

“I am very grateful for the award. It always means more when it is the supporters who have voted. At the same time, it is proof that we as a team have started the season in a good way,” said Nanasi when the announcement became official.

The best player in Superettan in April was Pashang Abdulla of Degerfors IF. The forward chose to donate his prize money to the club’s initiative “Valla för Alla” for an inclusive and more sustainable society.

“I want the prize money from Unibet to go to Valla för Alla, which is a force for social change and inclusion for children and young people in Degerfors,” says Abdulla.

The Coach of the Month in Superettan was Max Mölder from Landskrona BoIS. Mölder has chosen to donate his money to the newly started community engagement project “A Better Path for Landskrona Football.”

“I think it’s a good initiative. As the leading football force in the city, we can bring together young people from all clubs on a Friday and offer training to the whole city. Our players get to know others, and others get to know our players. It can create a synergy effect in all of Landskrona football,” says Mölder.

Facts about Player/Coach of the Month:
Player and Coach of the Month in Allsvenskan and Superettan are selected by Swedish Professional Football Leagues in collaboration with Unibet. The prize goes to the player and coach who have made the best lasting sports impression during the past month.

Each winner receives 10,000 kronor from Swedish Professional Football Leagues main sponsor Unibet to donate to a community engagement project within the club.

Player and Coach of the Month are selected six times per league in 2024. The jury consists of all 16 team captains or head coaches as well as sports journalists from national media and local media in the communities where Allsvenskan or Superettan are played.

The jury votes each month to select three finalists for the award. Supporters then have the opportunity to vote for which of the three finalists they think should win. A total score is then calculated, where media, coaches, and team captains account for two-thirds, and supporters’ votes account for one-third, and a winner is selected.

Allsvenskan’s jury: Jonas Dahlquist (discovery+), Niklas Jarelind (discovery+), Nordin Gerzic (discovery+), Anders Andersson (discovery+), Daniel Kristoffersson (Sportbladet), Per Bohman (Sportbladet), Anel Avdic (Expressen), Therese Strömberg (Expressen), Daniel Nannskog (SVT Sport), Olof Lundh (TV4), Martin von Knorring (Fotbollskanalen), Johan Elmander (Radiosporten), Johan Esk (DN), Casper Nordqvist (FotbollDirekt), Henrik Hultqvist (Värnamo Nyheter), Henrik Skiöld (TT), Oskar Pålsson (Borås Tidning), Lasse Hansson (Barometern), Christer Gustafson (Norrköpings Tidningar), Max Wiman (Sydsvenskan), Aldijana Talic (Svenska Fans), Daniel Meisels (UNT), Fredrik Janlind (GP), Markus Wulcan (GT), Fredrik Jonsson (Hallandsposten), Jerry Nilsson (Blekinge Läns Tidning/Sydöstran), Fredrik Tillberg (Offside), Marcus Birro (Studio Allsvenskan), Oskar Månsson (Fotboll Sthlm), Rasmus Ellvin (VLT), Fabian Ahlstrand (Fotbollsmorgon), Christoffer Svanemar (TuttoSvenskan), Svante Samuelsson (SEF), David Tezera (Unibet)

Superettan’s jury: The 16 team captains and coaches, Ramin Nouri (discovery+), Pär Hansson (discovery+), Adelisa Grabus (discovery+), Phillip Trollér (GP), Stisse Åberg (Arbetarbladet), Joel Bäckström (Gefle Dagblad), Jonas Bergström (Trelleborgs Allehanda), Fredrik Carlsson (Nerikes Allehanda), Lukas Sahlin (Sundsvalls Tidning), Hector Junelind (GT), Fredrik Sjölund (Östersunds-Posten), Kristian Bågefeldt (Borlänge Tidning), Filip Elg (Smålandsposten), Eric Persson (Helsingborgs Dagblad), Anton Gustavsson (Skaraborgs Allehanda), Erik Weiefors (Bohusläningen), Karl Andersson (Hallands Nyheter), Fredrik Narvelid (Karlskoga Tidning), David Tezera (Unibet), Thomas Hasselgren (SEF)